Twist’Falls

 

Going out, need it quick, no time for cornrows or braids, but you want it unique and with some class.  Well here’s a style for you.

With a cascade of large twists falling to the side of the hair like a waterfall, its no wonder how it got its name.

Whether it lasts for more than a day depends on hair texture, thickness and length, and how well the child can keep it during the nights with a head wrap on.  My daughter is very responsible so she makes sure her head wrap stays on during the night.  Don’t ask me how, she’s not the greatest sleeper…hahaha!

Doing this style is as simple as 1, 2, 3, 4.  Once you have decided you know which side of the head you want the style to fall;

  1.  part the hair initially with the tail of the comb to get the outline, then using the other-side of the comb, neaten your partitions.  The neater the better it will look, then loosely band each bunch.
  2. Using a strong hair band, properly secure it to the base of each bunch.
  3. Do large twists on the end of each bunch.
  4. Pin into place…..and…….

Tadaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!! hairstyle complete, so simple.  I do not use any gel or sprays, just head wraps, but you’re more than welcome to and it may even help keep it in longer.

In all honesty, I banded the hair too tight and by the end of the day, my daughter was complaining and then took it out….lesson learned and a tip for you.  Make sure when your banding, that its secure enough, but don’t make it too tight, otherwise your child may complain and take it out like mine did..lol!  And it looked so good on her too, well! next time ey?

Enjoy your day out, i’m sure there’ll be smiles all around.

Be-Inspired.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Twist’Falls

  1. Hi Jodi, Its so good to hear from you. Thank you for your comment, i really appreciate it.

    Concerning the hair regime that i do for my daughter, here it is.

    I treat her hair every 2 weeks or twice a month. One of those treatments consists of a deep moisturising treatment and another consists of a protein treatment, which i make myself.

    Each treatment has a conditioning base which I buy (I use TRESemme Naturals: nourishing moisture conditioner- because it is silicone free), your welcome to use what you have.

    Deep moisturising treatment ingredients:
    -Conditioner- 1/4 cup
    -Olive oil- 2-3 tbl spoons
    -Honey/glycerine- 2 tea-spoons

    Protein treatment ingredients:
    -Conditioner-1/4 cup
    -Coconut oil- 2-3 tbl spoons
    -Coconut cream- 4 tbl spoons or
    -Avocado- 1/2

    (You can vary the amounts according to how much hair they have)

    Mix all well till smooth, then spread on hair and wrap with something plastic so it can create its own heat, for a minimum of 30 minutes. Sometimes I keep it on her hair for 2 hours.

    Shampoo (I use TRESemme naturals, but you can use what you have) out. I generally shampoo twice and then condition again with just the conditioner for a minute or so (this is when my daughter will then have her bath) and then do the final rinse.

    I have recently began blow-drying her hair, but you don’t have to, I just base the scalp and hair, then braid (till the next day when I style) if I’m not going to which you can do if you don’t want to blow-dry.

    Cream I use for her hair is a shea-butter mix that i do myself.

    Base ingredients include:
    -Shea-butter (melted very slowly over fire till its oil form) or shea oil
    -Olive oil
    -Coconut oil
    -Essential oil (of your liking)

    If i have any other oils like, Jojoba oil, vitamin e oil etc… I add them into the mix.

    I hope that makes sense. Sometimes I am naughty and I get too busy to keep a tight regime, but I do my very best to keep it as regular and as often as I can. Also if it seems I need to do more protein treatments then I will do more of that than the moisturising treatment, and other times I feel her hair can do with just a simple conditioner and wash. Either way you can allow her hair to let you know whats is best for it.

    Maybe that was a bit too detailed….hahahahaha! but if you need to know anything else, I’ll be more than happy to assist if i can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

